Log in

Promoting and Celebrating Engineering in Rochester 

Serving the Rochester Community for over 120 years!     

October 2017

11-Oct-2017 5:47 PM | Greg Gdowski, PhD (Administrator)

It is the perfect time to submit a candidate for nomination as Engineer or the Year or Young Engineer of the Year.  This is a tradition of the Rochester Engineering Society that dates back to 1963 and its recipients include a highly respected group of technical and business leaders in the Rochester community.  For the sake of space a partial list of award recipients back to 1987 is shown below.  There are 15 Professional Engineers, 14 PhDs, a Dean of Engineering from RIT, and many presidents and CEOs of engineering firms.

Engineers or the Year (2016-1987)

2016:Diane M. Trentini
2015:Robert L. Clark Jr. PhD
2014:Lalit Mestha PhD
2013:Maureen S. Valentine PE
2012:Sergio Esteban PE
2011:Brian J. Thompson PhD
2010:Gary W. Passero PE
2009:Kevin J. Parker PhD
2008:Satish G. Kandlikar PhD
2007:Harvey J. Palmer PhD PE
2006:Thomas C. Mitchell PE
2005:Sophie V. Vandebroek PhD
2004:Neville F. Rieger PhD D.Sc. PE
2003:Cornelius Illenberg PE
2002:G. Michael Morris PhD
2001:William C. Larsen PE
2000:Kenneth G. Budinski
1999:Salvatore A. LaBella PE
1998:Duncan T. Moore PhD
1997:Jay M. Eastman PhD
1996:Walter Cooper PhD
1995:Edward Maybeck PE
1994:Michael Triassi PE
1993: John M. Davis PE
1992:Edwin P Przybylowicz PhD
1991:Erwin G. Loewen PhD
1990:William K. Pollock PE
1989:William J. Stolze
1988:Donald J. Bergmann PE
1987:Keith W. Amish PE

Our most recent Engineer of the Year helped form a Young Engineer of the Year award in cooperation with the Kate Gleeson foundation. The list of awards recipients since its start in 2007 is shown below.  They were all below the age of 40 and demonstrate exceptional engineering acumen as company managers and PhDs.

Young Engineers or the Year

2016:Danielle S. W. Benoit
2015:Matthew Thomas Sidley
2014:John M. Papponetti, PE
2013:Courtney E. Reich, PE
2012:Clement Chung, PE
2011:Sherwin A. Damdar
2010:Michael J. Walker, EIT
2009:Nathan Gnanasambandam, PhD
2008:Venkatesh G. Rao, PhD
2007:Vishal Monga, PhD

Nominate an Engineer or Young Engineer for consideration this year! More information about the EOY and YEOY nomination process can be found online at http://roceng.org/Recognition (Nominations are due by Dec 11th).

The family of the last EOY shown in the list, Keith Amish, recently funded an RES scholarship in his name to recognize outstanding students. This is another great tradition of the RES and a reminder to also consider sending an application to engineering, engineering technology, science and technology students that have completed two years, maintained a 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA, and plan to continue forward to an ABET accredited degree and live locally.  Please review the application at http://roceng.org/page-1702084.

We hope to see you all at next year's Rochester Engineering Society Gala to recognize EOY, YEOY, and scholarship winners.

Celebrating Engineering, 

Mike Triassi

Home of the RES!

657 East Avenue
Rochester, NY 14607 

Copyright © Rochester Engineering Society

Administrative Director

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software